Visit "Where can I get vaccinated" or call 1-877-COVAXCO (1-877-268-2926) for vaccine information.


Excellence in Teaching Award for Law Enforcement Academies


POST is pleased to announce the winners for the first annual Instructor of the Year Awards:

  • The Attorney General’s Instructor of the Year Award
    • Laurie Galvan, Western Colorado Peace Officers Academy
  • Excellence in Teaching Award – Skills Instructor
    • Craig Nelson, Jefferson County SO / Lakewood PD Combined Regional Academy
  • Excellence in Teaching Award—Academic Instructor
    • Paul Mynatt, El Paso County Sheriff's Office Training Academy
  • Innovation in Teaching Award—Skills Instructor
    • Matt Bach, Highlands Ranch Law Enforcement Training Academy
  • Innovation in Teaching Award—Academic Instructor
    • ​​​​​​​Heather Smith, Pueblo Police Department Law Enforcement Academy

The award criteria is as follows:

  • Demonstrated concern for students
  • The ability to motivate student effort
  • Track record of developing a classroom environment that facilitates meaningful discussion that is open to varied viewpoints
  • Demonstrated command of and enthusiasm for the subject they teach
  • Awareness of recent developments in their field
  • Ability to tie the content to the practical realities of an entry-level peace officer
  • A deep understanding of how adults learn
  • Commitment to using innovative, effective, and engaging learning methodologies that help increase learning and retention

Award recipients were announced on August 15, 2022 and an awards ceremony will be held at the Department of Law on August 31, 2022 from 2-3pm.

For more information about the award and the process please contact Shalyn Kettering via email.​​​​​​​

Review Committee

The review committee was comprised of:

  • Attorney General Phil Weiser
  • POST Director Bo Bourgerie
  • POST Curriculum Subject Matter Expert Committee Chair Janet Larson
  • Denver Police Department Academy Director Lieutenant Michelle Folmar
  • Counsel to the Attorney General Shalyn Kettering
  • Former 7th Judicial District Attorney Dan Hotsenpiller
  • Colorado Law School Professor Helen Norton