

## Colorado POST Marijuana and Impairment Detection Training Tuition Reimbursement Requirements (FY 2018)

For fiscal year 2018 (7/1/17 to 6/30/18), a portion of the Marijuana Tax Cash Fund will be dedicated to tuition reimbursement for training on marijuana and on impairment detection.

The following are general requirements for those seeking to use the reimbursement process:

- 1) The person attending the training must be a certified peace officer currently working for a Colorado law enforcement agency.
- 2) The training must be specifically for education about marijuana or marijuana impairment detection. SFST and ARIDE trainings meet this standard since they discuss marijuana impairment in addition to alcohol and are permissible.
- Agencies must contact POST and get reimbursement approval BEFORE an officer attends the training. Reimbursement requests for classes that did not get POST preapproval will not be considered.
- 4) Reimbursement will be limited to a maximum of \$350 for tuition and \$150 for travel (hotel and/or mileage) per officer, per training.
- 5) The reimbursement will also be limited to a total for the year of \$4,500 per law enforcement agency.
- 6) Reimbursement for training will require a receipt for registration payment as well as a certificate of completion.
- 7) Reimbursement for travel will require a zero-balance hotel receipt for lodging, and a travel log for mileage. Per diem will NOT be reimbursed.
- 8) All receipts and documents must be received within 30 days from the end of training.
- 9) Any training reimbursement applications not complete and received at POST by 6/30/18 will not be fulfilled, even if the training was pre-approved.

For further questions or to request pre-approval for a class, please contact:

Dan Griffin POST Training Coordinator Dan.Griffin@coag.gov (720) 508-6389