



Department of Law Ralph L. Carr Colorado Judicial Center 1300 Broadway, 9th Floor Denver, CO 80203 (720) 508-6721 Fax: (866) 858-7486 Email: POST@coag.gov

Board Members
Philip J. Weiser
Attorney General
Chair

Chief George Dingfelder City of Monte Vista Vice Chair

Donald Addy
Public Member
Sr. Investigator Tonya Barnes

Sr. Investigator Tonya Barnes
Eighteenth Judicial District
Ashley Beck

Public Member Chief Gregory Daly Town of Avon

Laura Daniels
Gunnison County

Officer Rachel Esters
City of Ouray

Sharletta Evans
Public Member

Chief Terrence Gordon
City of Thornton

Chief Maris Herold City of Boulder

Executive Director Stan Hilkey
Department of Public Safety

Sheriff KC Hume Moffat County

Chief David Krouse
City of Fruita
Scott Levin
Public Member

Deputy Shannon Lofland

Arapahoe County
Sheriff David Lucero

Pueblo County
Sheriff David Martin

Morgan County
Sheriff Anthony Mazzola
Rio Blanco County

Rio Blanco County
Special Agent in Charge

Mark Michalek
Federal Bureau of Investigation
Sheriff Shawn Mobley

Otero County
Sheriff Sean Smith
La Plata County
Chief Jeffrey Swoboda
City of Fort Collins

POST Director Erik J. Bourgerie

POST BOARD WORK SESSION AGENDA

Thursday, September 7, 2023 10 a.m. – 4 p.m.

100 Wulfson Rd Glenwood Springs, CO 81601

Board/Staff Presentations

1. **Welcome** Attorney General Phil Weiser

2. **New Board Member** Attorney General Phil Weiser

a. Sheriff KC Hume

3. **Annual Board Training** Board Counsel Tara Buchalter

4. Elevating Professional Director Erik Bourgerie Training Opportunities

a. Integrating Communications, Assessment, and Tactics (ICAT)

b. Active Bystandership for Law Enforcement (ABLE)

c. Ethical Decision Making Under Stress (EDMUS)

5. Academy Inspections Compliance Mgr. Cathy Rodriguez

6. Updates POST Staff

a. Non-U.S. Citizen Eligibility for Certification (See supplemental materials)

b. Clarifying/Updating Form 6 (See supplemental materials)

c. Career Advance Colorado – Free Academy Training (See supplemental materials)

- d. POST Rule Proposed Changes (See supplemental materials)
 - 1. Hazing and Physical Punishment
 - 2. SME Meetings C.O.M.A.
 - 3. Injury Reporting
 - 4. Red Dot
 - 5. Rule 33

7. CCCS Updates

a. LETA Project Landon Pirius

b. Instructor Methodology Eric Salahub Kerri Mitchell

c. Principles of Policing/ De-escalation Ty Campbell

8. Introduction of Curriculum Designer

Attorney General Phil Weiser

9. Academy Redesign Project

Curriculum Developer

- a. Vendor for Instructor Methodology (Design4Learning)
- b. Outreach Plan
- c. Module Template Development
- d. Identifying Curriculum Development Committee Chairs

10. DMVA Proposal

Parker White

11. **POST Academy Fee Proposal** (See supplemental materials)

Sheriff Anthony Mazzola

12. Questions/Comments

Director Erik Bourgerie